The YHL-Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge

I am just barely squeezing this post out in time to participate in Young House Love‘s (unofficial) Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge! 

Macklemore-Challenge

(photo credit to Young House Love)

Let me explain: there’s a song out that is currently getting some airtime by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis called Thrift Shop.  You can watch the edited version of the video here.  It’s a pretty funny and catchy song/video about — you guessed it — buying stuff at the thrift shop.  So funny that the DIY and budget home decor bloggers of the world are making this their theme song.  My fave bloggers at Young House Love (who we met a few weeks back) initiated a challenge to other bloggers:

Step #1. Go to a thrift shop with – just as the chorus of the song says – “$20 in your pocket” and take a picture. I headed to Priceless Treasures Thrift Shop on McHenry in Modesto.  This place was actually pretty darn nice for a thrift store.

20 dollars in my pocket

Step #2. Spend that $20 any way you’d like and photograph your spoils.  I actually found mostly pairs of items during my shopping trip.  First off: a pair of tall glass vases with an interesting feather pattern – thinking about doing something with paint on the inside of these.  Also found a pair of short and stubby green bottles that remind me of barrels.  The last pair of things I bought were some heavy bronze ducks that are actually really cute – even Shaun approved.  I also picked up a wooden tray shaped like a 3-leaf clover, and a ceramic tray with swirly designs around the outside.  All this added up to around $17.

my spoils

Step #3. Find one item (or more) referenced in the song and snap a pic.  Holy moly was it hard to find something that was funny enough to take a picture of!  In the song they mention things like a kneeboard, telescope, velour jumpsuit, fringe, velcro shoes, footie pajamas, all-pink outfit, big a-s-s coat… and the list goes on.  I finally found some “moccasins” but these were actually super cute – and new with tags from Target!  So I guess I failed at this step.

moccasins

Step #4. Blog about it!   So there you have it.  Check out YHL’s post to see what they found at their local thrift shop along with all the other bloggers who participated!

I took a few other pictures during my shopping trip: this awesome framed picture was super cool – but the tag listed $59.99 (with a slash through it, which I’m not sure what that meant) so it was too pricey for me to justify.  Although Shaun loved it when I showed him the picture of the picture – maybe we’ll go back and check out the true price?

pricey framed art

I hit up one of my favorite antique stores on my way home too.  During my previous trip here, before Christmas, I spotted some super quirky hippopotamus book ends.  Shaun thought they were dorky, so we didn’t take them home.  I chatted with the store owner for a good long time and finally asked about the hippos.  They were still there – and he offered them to me at a 30% discount.  And since Shaun wasn’t with me, of course I bought them!!  Now they just need some pretty books to hold.

hippopotamus

The store owner said “if something like this could put a smile that big on my wife’s face, I’d buy 2 of them”.  My thoughts exactly.

Leave a Reply

